Strawberry Cider.... maybe? ;/

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

w44dde

Reaction score
Hi guy's.. I found a recipe online for a Perry/
pear cider which consisted of the following.. 3 cans of pear halves in syrup, 300g sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, blended and simmered in a pan topped up with 3 litres of cold water and a wine yeast starter, in a DJ.. hydro reading of 1044 (which was as the recipe stated thank God) NOW I thought.... could I make a strawberry cider using the same principles? So instead of asking I've just done it..oh dear :/ after searching about I found that instead of using water to top up the 'strawberries in syrup', I've used apple juice... after giving it a whirl about and testing it I've got a hydro reading of 1110? Now I'm very very new to this but I like to do my homework so if anybody can tell me if this is going to work or any advice on the matter, then please be gentle... thanks :)

Well, what ABV are/were you looking to get? Currently you are looking at a potential 15 - 16 %.

That is a pretty high SG... Which means its going to taste like wine and need to be aged for quite some time in order for it to taste drinkable because your wine yeast will eat up every bit of your sugar. That's not a bad thing if you are ok with that but just know that it will taste very wine-like. Also if you do decide to just ferment as is make sure you have some good step dosages of yeast nutrient and I suggest fermenting at a lower temp to help avoid the "got alcohol" taste.

If you don't want it to taste like wine and want more of a cider taste then my suggestion is to dilute it down with more apple juice and make a bigger batch. Don't dilute with water. Add more strawberry to the secondary to preserve the strawberry taste.