Starter and stir plate with dry yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knutz38

Reaction score
I'm new to this and have done only 2 batches so far. In both I used liquid yeast with a starter AND a stir plate and got great fermentation activity.
I'd like to know if a stir plate can be used with a starter using dry yeast?

Thanks for the replies

You CAN, but you shouldn't.

Dry yeast is packaged with the necessary reserves already built in to them so they're ready to just wake up and go straight to work on your actual beer. When you use them in a starter, they deplete those energy stores fermenting the starter wort, such that when you pitch them into the main wort, they're tired and spent.

Dry yeast is cheap. If you need a higher cell count, just pitch multiple packs. And rehydrate your dry yeast first - don't just sprinkle it in dry!

I've always done liquid yeast with starters and it is the best practice. However, this year I have been experimenting with dry yeasts. I will probably only make a couple batches that use liquid this year. The nice thing about dry is that the packets are cheap enough that when you need more yeast, you buy another packet. I think I'm getting spoiled because dry yeast is so easy.

Absolutely you can and it will help. At a minimum it's recommended to hydrate your dry yeast to avoid immediately killing a percentage of the population by over stressing them by pitching directly into wort. Waking them up with a starter is always a good idea. It will help reduce lag time after pitching. It also gives assurance your pack wasn't mistreated by proving if they are viable beforehand.

Must you, no. But you will get a healthier fermentation.