Spring Water Vs. Tap Water

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andyherrick

Reaction score
I am a three batch veteran in all grain. I have questions about the type of water to use. I know that I should get a water report, but have not. I have city water. I also do not want to buy a water filtration system either.

I am basing this question on the taste alone. I brewed a pale ale recipe kit on two different occasions. I used the same process on both of them, and the only thing that is different is the yeast and water.

The first one I used regular tap water with safale S04. The second time I used walmart spring water with wyeast 1056. The two beers in my opinion tasted very similiar. I thought they were both tasty.

$8 in spring water or tap water? If the water tastes ok, it will make good beer?

Thanks again. Any comment is appreciated.

If you do have to buy H20, I buy local 5 gallon jugs of reverse osmosis water (around $4.50) and dilute with house filtered water. I'm not sure exactly what my water profile is although I know it's pretty hard and am slowly adding more & more of my own house water.

I have heard a lot of talk about RO water, and do not fully understand it. How different is it from spring water.

I have heard a lot of talk about RO water, and do not fully understand it. How different is it from spring water.

RO water is stripped clean of all mineral content. If you use only RO water you should add minerals. RO water is very useful for diluting mineral rich water.