Speciality grains – crushing without a mill

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeSkril

Reaction score
I have to crush 1 lb of Caramel 20 and I have not mill. I’ve tried a rolling pin (wood) but kernels are not crushed. I guess the kernel must be crushed, right? I have a coffee grinder (like a very small blender). Should I try this to crush?

Thanks!

A rolling pin always worked for me for specialty grains....maybe you need a bigger rolling pin, not one of those tiny 1.5" diameter "housewife" pins? I have a big fat one, but then again, I was a baker for most of my working life :)

I would try the blender. Use the Pulse setting and perhaps the 'chop' setting (mine has a chop setting...stay away from liquify) and go slow. You can test the grinder vs the blender as well. That may be best.

I crush my entire grain bill in the blender. Since you're using a bag, you don't really have to worry about crushing too fine.

Since you're using a bag, you don't really have to worry about crushing too fine.

Thats the other thing...I have a steeping bag but its too small. I found a bag of Cheesecloth at the local hardware store. I think that really small stuff will not stay in the cheesecloth, will it?

55946413.jpg

So a blender or say food processor is ok for BIAB as long as its not to fine of crush?. What happens if its too fine taste wise in the beer?
Thanks