Single vessel brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rdanneskjold

Reaction score
Newbie here! so, go easy on me....

Would it be possible to brew beer with a single pot? My thought is to use a large aluminum pot for everything. Use a fine mesh bag for all the ingredients, which can neatly be removed after the boil. Seal the lid with a soft closed-cell foam and clamp the lid down with spring clamps. Vent out the top through an air-trap. Bottle via valve outlet at the bottom side of the pot.

This will be an electric system. another advantage to that is that the temperature of the wort can be closely maintained by a temperature controller using the heating element (I would wire it to 120V instead of 240V to decrease power density, or maybe put a triac voltage controller in there.)

I AM a notoriously cheap bastard, to be sure. but it seems like this method could also prevent contamination that would otherwise be exposed to.

(...and let's leave the discussion of Aluminum by the wayside for the purposes of focus....)

Thanks!

RD

Sure, very possible.
But you'll have to wait for your next brew session until you've packaged the beer.

Most active fermentations need cooling not heating. Stay on the lower side of your yeasts optimal range for better beer.
I guess you're going to chill the wort before pitching yeast and clamping down the lid?

Use good sanitation around the lid area when clamping it shut.

Use a fine mesh bag for all the ingredients, which can neatly be removed after the boil.
Aside from hops, what other ingredients exactly are you planning to boil?

Are these going to be all grain or extract brews?
it seems like this method could also prevent contamination that would otherwise be exposed to.
That's a very thin argument.