Should I add sugar to my barleywine??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbavenger

Reaction score
This is my 3rd batch, so I'm a noob. I'm doing the barleywine recipe from John Palmer's How To Brew book. (I know, I should have done a few simple beers, but couldn't help myself :) My wort is in the primary for 11 days now. OG=1.094 (recipe said 106 but I was a tiny bit short of DME). Today=1.038. Temp=69F, and produces a bubble every 7 sec or so.

I've been reading about people adding sugar (dextrose?) to barleywine at the boil, or at fermentation start, or when moved to the secondary. I'm worried because my recipe says nothing about adding sugar! (Obviously I'm not talking about bottling sugar.) This is a partial mash (I think that's the term) -- 5lb LME in boil, 8lb DME after boil. 1lb grains steeped before boil. Should I be adding sugar at this point, and in what form?

Also, I was originally planning on moving to a secondary at 14 days, but have read a bunch of things that say secondaries are not really necessary, and do more harm than good, but maybe that's not true for a "big" beer like this. My thought was if I rack to the secondary, that might be a good time to add the sugar.

Any thoughts?

If the original recipe did not call for sugar, then I see no reason to add it.

Secondaries are fine, just be very careful not to introduce oxygen or contaminants to the beer. Or you could just leave it in the primary longer. You pretty much get the same result in the end.

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew