Second batch recipe help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Djaniefer

Reaction score
I'm brand new at homebrewing and working on my second 1 gallon batch. My first batch was an IPA from a complete Brooklyn Brewery kit. However, today I went to my local brew shop and bought the ingredients to brew a cream ale, (per the guidance of the owner's suggestions, since I clearly don't know what I'm doing :)). The nice thing about the kit is that the directions hold your hand throughout the process. This time around, I feel like I'm brewing in the dark. Begging for another pair of eyes.

My ingredients are as follows:

1 lb Rahr Standard 2-row
1 lb Briess Pilsen Malt
1 lb Flaked Corn
1 oz German Hallertau hop pellets
1.5 g Dry Ale yeast (Safale US-05 Fermentis)
5 oz Priming sugar/Dextrose (This is only relevant because I used honey the first time around, so I'll be new to priming sugar).

I have my recipe/directions written out like this:

*MASH
-Boil 2.5 Quarts @ 160 F
-Mash in
1 lb Rahr Standard 2 Row
1 lb Briess Pilsen Malt
8 oz Flaked corn
-Cook for 60 minutes @ 149 F
-Mash out @ 170 F

*SPARGE
-Boil extra 4 Quarts @ 170 F
-Pour over grain, collect 5 Quarts of wort

*BOIL
-Boil wort at 212 F, keep small rolling boil for 60 min.
-Add in
1/4 oz Hallertau @ 60 minutes (start)
1/4 oz Hallertau @ 10 minutes left
1 oz Honey @ 10 minutes left

*FERMENTATION
-Cool to 70 F
-Add to fermentor
-Add ??? grams (maybe 3 quarters of a teaspoon??) of yeast
-Shake until well mixed
-Store at about 65 F for 10 days

*BOTTLING
-Heat 1/2 cup of water in biggest stockpot
-Add 3/4 oz of priming sugar
-Transfer fermented beer to stockpot
-Mix together
-Siphon into bottles
-Store for 2 weeks at 65 F