Rogue's House train

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewer Gerard

Reaction score
Well i was just having a glance at the thread that discusses wyeast 1768 discontinuation and how hard it is to get your hands on Rogue's strain. Somebody suggested that the dregs of a bottle could be used to grow up a culture to do a batch. Amazingly i can get a few of rogues beers locally but as far as i can see it has been filtered ta f**k.

Would there be any viable cells in a filtered beer? Really would like to do a dead guy clone and having the same yeast would surely aid success.

House Train .... :eek:

I have used Pacman for many a Rogue beer, and to be blunt, I am really starting to dislike it. When I was an all-grain newbie, my first few batches were Dead Guy, then Shakespeare Stout, Dead Guy again, the a Double Dead guy.

For reasons unknown (then), each had an underlying taste that I just could not pinpoint. Not bad, not good, just there, in every batch.

Eventually I moved onto other brews but revisited a Double Dead guy in April. Using Pacman again, that damned unknown flavor reappeared. It is the yeast itself.

My brew process does not incorporate clarifying/fining and I suspect that Pacman likes to linger. Just an uneducated guess.

From what I have read, to address your question, is that you can cultivate Pacman from bottle dregs. I haven't - others have.

House Train .... :eek:

Just saw that now:eek:

From what I have read, to address your question, is that you can cultivate Pacman from bottle dregs. I haven't - others have.

mmmm

Just wondering has filtration been incorporated in more recent years.