Ridiculous Attenuations?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phecke

Reaction score
So I've been brewing all-grain now for about 6 months and I always hit my OG almost dead on. My problem is that all of my FGs are very low, like below 1.010 low. For example I brewed an amber ale 2 weeks ago and my OG was 1.059 when I was looking to get 1.060. (The OG has been temp corrected) I was supposed to get a final gravity somewhere around 1.015. I took it today and found it to be 1.008 (also temp corrected). Thats an apparent attenuation of 86%!!! I used Wyeast 1272 (should be 72%-76%) and made a 1L starter as always. This generally happens with whatever yeast I use though, and like I said I always make a 1L starter. I also always ferment in the mid 60's.

The only thing I can figure is my mash temperatures. My glass thermo read 154˚F and I've found that one to be accurate. My digital read 150˚F but I don't trust that one near as much. Either way I don't think 86% attenuation should be possible, should it?

I'm not upset that my gravity is that low, my beer tastes fine. I'm just very curious as to how I keep getting so low, and what I can do to maybe get some more control over it.

As some more info, yes I have checked my hydrometer, it reads 1.000 in water at 60˚. Also my starters are 100g of DME/L water. I also aerate my wort with an aquarium pump and air stone.

Thought? Opinions?

It pretty much has to be your thermometer. Mashing at 154 F shouldn't bring you that low unless you are adding sugar to your wort. Get a thermapen or some real thermometer (NIST traceable).

A couple of things.