Recipe help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buntung483

Reaction score
So I'm going to have a go at a recipe and would like some thoughts on what I have here. I'm not to worried about the style being exact but feel this is closest to english pale. Any help would be great as I am still new to making recipes and havnt had much luck with my own recipes. Here's the recipe

For 40L with 60% efficency
Est Sg 1.049 Est fg 1.011 37 Ibu

76.2% maris otter 8 kg

14.3% wheat. 1.5kg

9.5% caramunich 1. 1 kg

Hops are

38g brewers gold 7.7% first wort with 60 min boil

26g cascade 7.1% 20 min

26g mt hood 5.7% 20 min

26g cascade 7.1% 1 min

26g mt hood 5.7% 1min

26g cascade dry hop 5 days

Ferment with nottingham ale yeast at 62F

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

There is nothing wrong with this recipe as is. However, my first thought is to get rid of the wheat. I don't think it really does anything for you in this style except add some head retention and make your beer a little more cloudy. I would switch it out for either just more Maris Otter or some Vienna or light Munich.

My other thought is you might want to ferment a little warmer than 62.

I was looking at my percentages and thought that it was a lot of wheat. Perhaps I will try subbing for more maris otter. How bout the hop schedule. Do you think the hops will work fine

So I'm going to have a go at a recipe and would like some thoughts on what I have here. I'm not to worried about the style being exact but feel this is closest to english pale. Any help would be great as I am still new to making recipes and havnt had much luck with my own recipes. Here's the recipe

For 40L with 60% efficency

76.2% maris otter 8 kg

14.3% wheat. 1.5kg

9.5% caramunich 1. 1 kg

Hops are