Recipe check: Strawberry Wheatbeer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peppers16

Reaction score
Hi all. :)

Trying to come up with a drink that I can give to my non-beer-drinking friends (sadly, most of them) and was wondering if someone can give this a once-over since I'm still quite new to forming my own recipes?
I'm going for something that's fairly sweet and fruity that hopefully will appeal to the reluctant/inexperienced beer-drinker.

I'm doing a half-batch of 10L, using the BIAB method.

Est OG: 1.066
Est FG: 1.018
Est ABV: 6%
Bitterness: 26 IBU
IBU/GU: 0.40
Est eff: 65%

• Yeast- Danstar Munich or Safale WB06
---
  • 48% - 1.5kg (3.3lb) 2 Row UK lager malt
  • 32% - 1.0kg (2.2lb) Wheat (preferably flaked, torrified depending on HBS)
  • 8% - 250g (1/2lb) Dextrose sugar (to boost the ABV a bit)
  • 5% - 150g (5 oz) Cara-Pils
  • 5% - 150g (5oz)Flaked oats
  • 3% - 100g (3.5 oz) Lactose (may be unnecessary with low bitterness?)
---
  • 20g EK Goldings for 45 minutes
---
  • 1kg (2.2lb) strawberries - Probably blanched and added after primary has slowed?
  • Maybe a vanilla bean?

Mash schedule is intended to be 11L water at 69C (156F) to give more body before mashout with an extra 4L. Since it's BIAB the adjuncts should not be an issue.

How's it looking? Do any of those percentages need tweaking?

I've noticed a lot of recipes along this line use raspberries. Is there a reason for this?
Cheers! :mug: