Protein rest effects on mouthfeel in oatmeal beers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanppp

Reaction score
I've read that if you're doing a high-adjunct brew (my interest is mostly in high-oatmeal grists) you should do a protein rest to break the long chain proteins into medium-chain mouthfeel-enhancing proteins. But I've also read that a protein rest can reduce body and "thin out the beer". The first claim is by John Palmer in How To Brew, the second by Gordon Strong in Brewing Better Beer.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Thanks!

While I have no experience in the subject matter I find this interesting and I'd love to learn more. Do either pieces of literature point to an effective duration of the rest? If the enzymes are left to their devices too long I can see how it would continually break down proteins until you are left with a pile of amino acids (great for yeasties but not so much for mouthfeel).

The use of a protein rest depends on the grain bill. Grain bills heavy in malted wheat, or unmalted wheat or barley are often good candidates for a protein rest (or you can skip it). These are protein rich ingredients and help to add body to a beer (and potentially haze).

As far as base malts go, I've played around with this and I didn't find much benefit with pale malts, but I do with pilsner malt. These days I just use pilsner malt for ALL of my beers. The benefit that I get is not huge, but to me, it is noticeable. One thing you will read is that too long a protein rest will result in a thin beer. This usually gets misinterpreted into ANY protein rest will result in a thin beer, which is not the case. (I do 20 min. at 122 F)