Problems with pressure fermenting.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WeHeavy

Reaction score
This is my first try at pressure fermenting. I have a ale that has dropped from 1.052 to 1.021 at which point I attached the spunding valve on my corny keg. I added 5 PSI of pressure and it quickly bled off. I messed around with it. I wound up adding 15 psi of pressure and bled it off to 10 lb of PSI. I got up this morning and it was reading 0. My keg has all new o-rings. Could the CO2 be absorbing into the beer? Or do I have a leak in my spunding valve?

Since you obviously did not perform a pressure fermentation then yes, any CO2 you push into the headspace will start being absorbed by the beer. Assuming you left very little heaspace this won't amount to much in terms of carbonation and pressure may very well drop to 0 if fermentation at this point is sluggish or maybe has even stopped altogether. Of course a leak would only make things worse and make the keg lose pressure even faster.

This is my first try at pressure fermenting. I have a ale that has dropped from 1.052 to 1.021 at which point I attached the spunding valve on my corny keg. I added 5 PSI of pressure and it quickly bled off. I messed around with it. I wound up adding 15 psi of pressure and bled it off to 10 lb of PSI. I got up this morning and it was reading 0. My keg has all new o-rings. Could the CO2 be absorbing into the beer? Or do I have a leak in my spunding valve?

Leaky valve for sure. It could possibly be the keg, but if it sealed normally in the past, I'd expect it to be the valve.

Make sure its dialed in as tight as it will go and put it on. With a leak that fast, I'd expect you could hear the leak or at least find it with spray bubbles.