Pressure cooker/autoclave: How to deal with excess condensation when sterilizing equipment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm just getting started on doing some yeast harvesting, storing, etc. I purchased some glass petri dishes that can I sterilize in my pressure cooker. I'm following the processes outlined in the Yeast Book by White and Zainisheff.

The plates I prepared came out of the pressure cooker covered in large droplets inside and out. I sterilized them inverted and separated in the pressure cooker. They were elevated on a platform above the water at the bottom of the pot. As I removed them from the cooker I shook them once or twice to shake some of the water off, but didn't want to leave them exposed for too long and risk contaminating them. I then mated the two halves to close them up. I followed the process for preparing the media with wort/agar. I've got them sitting on top of the refrigerator where it's warm now for a day to let them evaporate the condensation. They are in a plastic tote that is not air tight. I'm a little worried about them getting infected and/or not drying for a few more days. I'd like to tape them up to ensure they stay pure. (They are not inoculated yet.)

What do people do to help with the condensation? Should I be doing something different? Should I be sterilizing them closed? Wouldn't this just trap more water in them?

Help a noob out, would ya?

Back in my lab days, we'd wrap anything like that in foil. If they're closed then it's harder for the water to get in in the first place.