Original Recipe need input

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PastorofMuppets

brewing beer leads to happy life
Reaction score
I just started playing with ingredients in beersmith.
I didnt have a particular style in mind so I ignored the ranges for abv, color, IBU etc.

I need input on what this might make as well as any feedback on ingredients, hops, and especially what yeast might really round out a good beer. It ended up becoming more of a summer ale but with a kick.

here is the recipe.

10 lb maris otter
1 lb aromatic malt
1 lb honey malt
.5 biscuit
.5 crystal 80
1lb corn sugar to up the abv
2.2 grams grains of paradise (for a spicy note)
.82 oz coriander
2 oz cluster 60 min
2 oz amarillo 1 min
yeast options are london ale - american ale I - American II
or something more exotic.

this looks to be a delicious brew. I am really wanting to try something where I didnt look at anything for reference, or only barely tweak a recipe from someone else. I just wanna try something that i made up, but I dont want it to suck either..

Please bestow on me your wisdom.

what are you shooting for in terms of flavor, aroma, ABV% etc.? Hard to give advice when you don't give us any info beyond the recipe. Looking at the ingredients, you have a mix of stuff, almost like you want to make a malty American style imperial witbier, which I would not be keen on personally.....regardless you plea for help would be better addressed if you give us more info on what your shooting for. Otherwise, just do what the rest of us have done and brew it and see what happens. No one wants to make sucky beer, sometimes it happens and its part of the learning curve.