Ok, I've messed up my beer big time - can anyone help me make sense of this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonBrew

Reaction score
Apologies in advance for the length of this post.

I brewed a weizenbock style beer at the end of June but when I visited my LHBS they were totally out of wheat malt. In it's place the guy recommended Crystal Wheat. It is obviously a much darker malt but that wasnt really an issue seeing as i was brewing a weizenbock anyway. I was, however, concerned about the level of fermentables i could extract from this kind of malt. The guy at the LHBS assured me it would be fine and would produce a rich and full bodied beer. I am relatively new to brewing and, in the moment, i bowed to his superioir knowledge and took the crystal wheat.

I went ahead with my brew with the crystal wheat making up over 50% of my grain bill.

My mash efficiency was slightly lower than anticipated so i added some DME to the boil to help with this. the starting gravity was 1056 with 10L wort going into the FV. I used Danstar Munich Wheat yeast which too off within the 24 hours but stopped after about 72 hours. I check and gravity reading was 1028. i tried everything to get this beer going again, i.e. rousing the yeast, raising temp etc, but nothing worked.

I then came on here and it was quickly suggested that my level of fermentable sugars would have been greatly affected by the crystal wheat.