Off Flavor present in all batches. All variables changed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewNate

Reaction score
Hey guys, thanks for taking the time to read this and providing you assistance. As the title states I am having trouble with an off flavor. This off flavor is hard to identify, even for seasoned brewers as I have let them sample some.

First: I started brewing with a one gallon extract kit. I now have a (5g system) HLT, Mash tun, Conical Fermenter, Immersion Chiller, and tons of other equipment. This all came about not only because I like brewing beer but also in an effort to eliminate the off flavor in my beer.

Also worthy of note. I feel that in troubleshooting this flavor, my sanitation practices are beyond reproach. I clean and disinfect my entire work surface. Layout paper towels for cleaned tools. I use StarSan (have also tried Iodine!) for sanitation. I also boil applicable tools. More is done but you get the drift.

Typically, I create a yeast starter. This includes yeast nutrient, DME, and yeast needed for the ale (have yet to do a lager).

I then heat my strike water to the appropriate temp (calculations backed up by BeerSmith). I mash in and normally have a mash temp of 148-155F. 60 min hold, all of course depending on what is required. Then Iodine test. Vorlauf till (mostly) clear and runoff and sparge with HLT water (170-190F). No mash out....not enough room. :)

Then I boil, follow my hop schedule, chill (with chiller that was boiled in the wort so it is clean aside from being cleaned manually), whirlpool, and move to fermenter quickly.

Now....I have both waited a few hours before pitching yeast (to dump trub) and pitched immediately...both @ 65-70F.