Nottingham

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FoundersBrew

Reaction score
I'm going to use nottingham on my next batch, I have never used this dry yeast before. Do you guys rehydrate, or just pitch in dry? I'm going to do Ed Worts APA if this make a difference.

I've only used dry yeast a couple of times, but following the rehydration instructions has worked well for me. I think Basic Brewing actually has an episode of their podcast on the subject, if you want to kill the better part of an hour listening to it.

I believe Ed the Grandmaster Wizard of Hops and Malt just sprinkles it in - works for him, then who am I to argue with it! (I've not got enough experience with dry yeast to have an opinion thus far...)

When using dry yeast I use Nottingham quite often. I do it dry. I do it rehydrated. The only difference I have noticed is a slightly longer lag time for the fermentation to really kick off and even that I cannot confirm (I don't hang out with a stop watch waiting for the fermentation to blast off).

Both work fine in my experience.

Notty is my old standby. Works great and is cheap. I used to hydrate, but just started sprinkling it in instead. Doesn't make much difference as far as I can tell. I wouldn't bother hydrating... Even dry I've had it kick off like a donkey.

I used Nottin's all the time and ust sprinkle it on the wort and close her up! Never had a problem.

I used it for the first time on my last batch.... Rehydrated it and it took off within 12 hours!

An advantage to hydrating is that you can smell the hydrated yeast and tell if it is okay. I have gotten bad Notty in the past. After I hydrated it, it just didn't smell right, but I pitched it anyway and was not surprised when it didn't work.