Newbie here

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mart1986

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to home brew I brought the coopers starter pack from tesco Friday and got it going straight away made few errors one is I forgot to take the gravity test after mixing and the other one is I'm unable to get it to the right temperature so it's brewing at 16c my gravity test is showing 1020 it's on 5th day now will this still drop how long will I need leave it to ferment.

It's not done yet @ 1.020. It'll need at least another week, maybe two. It'll reach FG first, then give it another 3-7 days to clean up by-products of fermentation & settle out clear or slightly misty. 16C equaling 60.8F, that's a tad low for Cooper's ale yeast. Their ale yeast, for me rehydrated, get's sluggish below 64F.

Thanks for reply I was going to leave it to ferment till weekend which would be 10 days before moving it to bottles then they stay there for 2 weeks. I'm getting a funny feeling I failed haha

Don't pay much attention to the time tables in those instructions. They definitely don't fit the actual times needed on a home brewing scale. We think maybe they just want you to hurry through it & buy more kits. Brewing is like bbq, it's done when it's done. You're not failing anything, it just takes longer then they say.

Maybe your right comes down to sales. what would you say is the gravity I'm aiming for for my next batch I'm thinking of getting heater pad to get it at a better temp