Newbie here---adding sugar to carbonate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pat francher

Reaction score
On my third batch...using sugar cube/drops to carbonate once bottled. 32 oz bottles. 2 did nothing, 3 did nothing. 4 got some...trying 5 this batch

How much will this impact flavor---meaning make it sweeter? Used a lot of sucrose to increase alcohol...tasted ok when bottling. Now am asking if the sugar in the bottles will impact severely.

Also, alternatives to add bubbles/carbonation?

Thanks

Patrick J---E-A-G-L-E-S!!!!

How long are you giving it and what temperature are you storing the bottles? 3 would have been slightly over carbed, but probably not to the point of exploding.

Last edited:
As long as your yeast are still alive and haven't exceeded their alcohol tolerance, your priming sugar should be completely consumed. What are you using for sugar?

As long as your yeast are still alive and haven't exceeded their alcohol tolerance, your priming sugar should be completely consumed.

In other words, is the cider sweet or dry when you bottle?
Do you have a hydrometer?

What kind of bottles and closures?

I have been happy with using Jolicoeur's Table 15.3 as a guide. This table gives Vols of CO2, g/L of CO2 in solution, g/L of fermented sugar required, SG drop, and pressure (atm) at 25 degrees C for typical Perlant, Petillant and Sparkling ciders. Take your pick which measure you like to use.