New Brewer fom Ohio

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

turtleneck

Reaction score
Hey everybody... I'm totally new at all this and have been looking forward to this day for some time now. Finally bit the bullet and got set up to do extract brewing. Now I'm compiling a list of must haves to go all grain. Got most everything figured out thanks to youtube and great forums like this one. There is much to learn! I do have a starter question... having come from drinking "American" beers, Busch, Bud, etc. what are some good all grain recipes that I could look up that are not real bitter? I just brewed a "Brewers Best American Amber" with an IBU of 29-32 and having tasted it before carbonation, it seems a bit bitter than my liking. Any ideas? Suggestions?? Thanks again for a GREAT forum!

Welcome to HBT!

As for some recipes, BierMuncher's Centennial Blonde/ is a good one, or EdWort's Haus Pale are both good choices.

I know that light lagers like Busch, Bud, Miller, ect...are harder to duplicate due to their "lack of taste". Any off flavors will be much harder to hide in such a light beer.
Good luck with your new hobby :mug:

Thanks for the heads up on the recipes, I'm going to check them out. Up till two weeks ago, I have never heard of the term IBU's. I know know that it stands for International Bittering Units. I noticed that the Centennial Blonde has a IBU of 21.6 sounds more to my liking. Never been a fan of bitter beers. Your going to have to forgive my ignorance... but according to the recipe>>>

Amount
7.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM)
0.75 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM)
0.25 oz Centennial [9.50%] (55 min)
0.25 oz Centennial [9.50%] (35 min)