Need some pointer on my first batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sonicphi

Reaction score
First of all hello every one, im just starting out and i have a few questions so here it goes.

I am on my third try trying to make mead, and this one looks like it is going to be the one, but i am a bit worried that my mead is bubbling kinda slow.

I have pitched the yeast 72 hours ago, and it is only bubbling every 10 seconds or so, is this normal?

Should it be bubbling more?

How long after the secondary fermentation should i rack?

The recipe is 1 part honey to 2.5 parts of water (from an artesian hole) to a total of 23 litters (around 6 galons)/ juice from 2 lemons / 1 packet of Lalvin 71B-1122.

Temperature here is around 15 to 23 degrees ( 50f to 70f)

Thank you.

Hi Sonicphi - and welcome.
Bubbles and time are not really what you should be counting. You need an hydrometer. That tells you with some accuracy how much sugar still remains and how much sugar the yeast have converted to CO2 and alcohol. When the specific gravity drops to about 1.005 then you can rack to the secondary. Racking too soon means that you are likely to remove the yeasts you need to continue fermenting, and racking too late can mean that you are exposing your wines and meads to the possibility of oxidation. How frequently an airlock bubbles has no real significance as that may be as much related to how well your bung and airlock in fact seal the carboy, what chemicals - precisely - are in the liquid (even water) that you are using as your filter, the smoothness of the inside of the airlock, the ambient temperature of the room etc etc etc

Honey is notoriously low in nutrients that the yeast needs - did you add any?
+1
Electrolytes are what yeast crave!