My First Lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

halvey

Reaction score
Alright so I'm completely new to this. I brewed an amber kit last week for my first batch and I racked it today to keep it fermenting for a few more days.

I've been reading everything I can get my hands on and ended up with a copy of Papazian's Complete Joys of Homebrewing. Having a refrigerator handy I thought "hey! why not try a lager?"

So I brewed the recipe in the book for "Good Night In Mexico"

I thought everything went really well until I checked the OG and was .020 below where it should have been 1.050. Here is where I think I went wrong.

The recipe called for rice extract. I couldn't find it and used rice flakes in the same quantity. 1 lb. when it called for a lb of extract.

Anyone have any input for me??

Halvey.

First, I recommend you invest in a good recipe program such as Pro Mash or Beer Smith. They aren't that expensive and are invaluable tools.

Second, you didn't mention you batch size (i.e. 5.5 gallons, 10 gallons, etc), but if you were brewing a 5 gallong batch, your substituion cost you around .006 in your Original Gravity. I am working off the assumption the recipe called for Rice Syrup.

Another consideration which you didn't clarify was the temp of the wort when you checked it. If you checked it while it was still warm, you would need correct for this. Keep in mind you Hydrometer is calibrated for 60 deg. F

Mashing 1lb of rice flakes yeilds about the same gravity points (0.006) as a lb of rice syrup according to tastybrew, so I don't think that's your only problem.

Ahhhh. The temperature. It was definitely hotter than 60. Boy don't I feel stupid.

Will I be risking too much contamination if I pop the cork off and take another sample?