My Brews and newly aquired water report.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jcoz

Reaction score
Hello, I just wanted to post and see if my thinking is along the right lines - I Started brewing this season and have 5 Batches under my belt - None of these turned out what I would consider really good beers, though all have been drinkable and other people liked them far more than I did (I tend to be hyper critical of my beer).

It was when I tried my first Porter and IPA that I really began to question my water content (starting in All-grain I had more than enough on my plate and wasn't yet worrying about my water).

I'll give a quick run down of the batches

1. Dunkelweizen - Great aroma, little dull on flavor, thin body
2. Robust Porter - Little acrid, thin body
3. IPA (biermunchers Outer Limits) - Really dull and soapy flavor
4. Blonde Ale (biermunchers Cenntenial Blonde) Dull, soapy
5. Kolsch (not really - biermunchers Orange Kolsch) - Came out well, but I'm ot certain it was supposed to be a dead ringer for Blue Moon, lol.

Anyways the IPA was sort of a dissaster given the style, and almost all suffered from very thin bodies.

Water Report fresh off the presses:

pH 8.6
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 79
Electrical Conductivity, mmho/cm 0.13
Cations / Anions, me/L / 1.01.1

All in ppm
Sodium, Na 4
Potassium, K < 1
Calcium, Ca 16
Magnesium, Mg 1
Total Hardness, CaCO3 44
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.4 (SAFE)
Sulfate, SO4-S 3
Chloride, Cl 6
Carbonate, CO3 3
Bicarbonate, HCO3 34
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 33
Total Phosphorus, P 1.33
Total Iron, Fe 0.14

I then re-read Palmers section on Water in HTB, and it actually mentioned the dull soapy flavor possibility in this type of water, which is EXACTLY how I described it myself.