Mead Tutorial - Comments?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BHolt

Reaction score
I realize most everyone here is way more experienced than I am, but I'm a teacher and enjoy communicating what I have learned. I made a mead tutorial, it's here:

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClPb9FtoVR0]How to Make Mead (Part 1) - YouTube[/ame]

Maybe this'll help a noobie mead maker you know!

Very nice, I wish I could find those bungs in Sweden. You can buy one gallon jugs, but I haven't seen any bungs. But I suppose my 2 liter soda bottles will do for my experimental batches. 3.7-ish liter would be a bit more fun for experimental batches, and those one gallon jugs are cooler.

Very nice, I wish I could find those bungs in Sweden. You can buy one gallon jugs, but I haven't seen any bungs. But I suppose my 2 liter soda bottles will do for my experimental batches. 3.7-ish liter would be a bit more fun for experimental batches, and those one gallon jugs are cooler.

There is a lot of bungs selling on ebay.
You also can choose the size which fit with your jug.

Oops, didn't know there was a tutorial section! Thanks for the comments!

wow, so many items that I see as wrong it's not even funny... One step cleaner to sanitize?? Then you rinse... WTF??? Just use StarSan and don't rinse AT ALL!

Also, with the honey flowing THAT well, you didn't need to heat it any more with water on the stove.

I would mention to NOT heat above 100F...

Oh and EC-1118 won't make it 'bubbly' just because it's champagne yeast...

15% is well within the range of what EC-1118 can handle (18%+).