Mead PH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenWulf

Reaction score
I have been brewing mead for several years and have had good results but I am trying to change my profile and I heard that PH will change the dryness of the mead so I am wondering what other people use as target PH levels for different meads.:mug:

pH gets mention, especially with traditionals, because a lot don't realise just how low it can be with just honey and water, but also because it can swing quite low, into the stall/stuck zone so easily.

There's nothing to act as a pH buffer, so it's usually just mix up and ferment keeping an eye that the pH doesn't drop too low, early stage aeration of a must is meant to provide oxygen for yeast development but of course, it also helps to remove some of the dissolved CO2 which is present in the form of carbonic acid.

A lot of straight honey mixes can be in the mid 3.x area and only cause pronlems if it drops below 3.0 so it can be handy to have potassium carbonate on hand to keep it away from the 3.0 mark......

ordered a Milwaukee 101 PH tester the strips were just too much like guess work but according to the my must was around the area of 5.5 but hopefully my new tester will be in by Monday and I will get a good reading.

What do you look for on the high end?

ordered a Milwaukee 101 PH tester the strips were just too much like guess work but according to the my must was around the area of 5.5 but hopefully my new tester will be in by Monday and I will get a good reading.

What do you look for on the high end?