Mash pH was off, although I followed Bru'n water.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fat_astronaut

Reaction score
I followed Bru'n water, and I used RO water that I had tested to find that the pH was 5.5. When I tested my mash pH, (with pH strips), my pH read about 4.6. I stuck the strip in the mash, which was at 154*F, (would this affect my reading, by dropping it?).

Here is my brewing additions sheet : http://www.docdroid.net/hl2s/pumpkin2.pdf.html

I added a bit of straight boiling 5.5 water to the mash, (about 1 litre), to bring the temp up at mash in. I also added about 3 lbs of baked pumpkin, that I didn't account for in my calculations.

Would using 5.2 buffer be worthwhile next time? I haven't brewed in a couple years, and this is my first time adjusting the water myself as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I followed Bru'n water, and I used RO water that I had tested to find that the pH was 5.5.
This should have been your first clue that something was wrong. If your RO water is DI, i.e. completely pure and the alarmists are right (PaCO2 = 0.0004 atm) then the pH of the water would be around 5.5. But if your RO system passes as much as 1 mg/L bicarbonate you would expect water pH to be about a point higher. Practically speaking, RO water usually measures in the mid 6's in the lab. What you saw demonstrates the well known fact that pH strips are pretty useless in the brewing application.

When I tested my mash pH, (with pH strips), my pH read about 4.6. I stuck the strip in the mash, which was at 154*F, (would this affect my reading, by dropping it?).