Mash pH clarification

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sondriven

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm just getting into adjusting my water pH. In Beersmith, my recipe calls for a mash pH of 5.2 Is this pH measured with the grains added? Or is this the pH of the mash water before grains are added?

Thanks,

with grains added and mixed well with water

adjusting before will result in low reading as the grains will help lower the PH

I wonder why Beersmith shoots for a mash pH target of 5.2? Nigh on all other sourced advice is to target a mash pH of 5.4, with an acceptable range of 5.2 at the low end and 5.6 at the high end.

The pH of your water before grain addition is irrelevant. Your waters alkalinity is highly relevant, and you must know this value.

Mix grains and water together, then wait at least 5-10 minutes, then measure.

That works if you want to make adjustments.....to the next batch. By 10 minutes a lot of the conversion has already happened so if your pH is off it's too late to correct for this batch. Unless you repeat the same grain bill you won't know for sure what the pH will turn out like.

I wonder why Beersmith shoots for a mash pH target of 5.2? Nigh on all other sourced advice is to target a mash pH of 5.4, with an acceptable range of 5.2 at the low end and 5.6 at the high end.

The pH of your water before grain addition is irrelevant. Your waters alkalinity is highly relevant, and you must know this value.

I target 5.2 to 5.4, depending on the source either is correct.
I will d\say, with my water profile, slightly hard to medium hard, 5.4 gives me the best conversion