Malt/honey combinations?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pith

Reaction score
Hi, guys.

I've never really liked beer, but I love mead, so I thought I might try and ease my way into malted beverages by trying a slightly malted mead; not quite enough malt to be called a braggot. I was wondering what kinds of honey and malt have worked well together in your experience. I have fairly wide access to good quality Eucalyptus honeys. I have little experience with malts, but I have a reasonable understanding of honey chemistry. I am more interested in wheat malts to begin with (banana/clove esters would be nice with honey, right?), but would appreciate advice on barley etc. malts as well.

I guess what it boils down to is:
- Is there a reason why Eucalyptus honey would not go well with wheat malt?
- Which honeys available in Australia (Eucalptus or not) go best?

Replies will be much appreciated and repaid with the results if you are accessible by greater Sydney public transport.

Thanks,
Caleb

Eucalyptus honey? Interesting. Here Canada we wide access to lavender honey, orange blossom honey, and wild flower honey, but I've never even heard of Eucalyptus honey. Would you care to describe the flavour in comparison to other honey's?

Monofloral honey - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (Ctrl+F "Eucalyptus")

It's hard to describe difference in taste since it's what I grew up with in Australia, but the general consensus I've found through Google is that it is a bold-flavour with a slight medicinal taste. The second paragraph of this webpage gives a fairly detailed description, mentioning herbal, menthol, butterscotch and less-sweetness than other honeys.