Making the switch to AG!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moorerm04

Reaction score
I'm pretty stoked because I have been doing partial mash brews for the past 2 years do to the limited space of my old house. My wife and I just moved into a new home that has a very nice back deck with a big awning. I just built my mash tun from an igloo cooler, and picked up a LP turkey fryer from basspro that comes with a 6.5 gal aluminum pot. It was in sale for $39 bucks. Think for my first batch I'm gonna make a very simple grain bill IPA.

I think you might have a hard time doing full boil 5 gallon batches of significant gravity in that kettle. You are also probably going to be remiss if that pot does not have a spigot. Trying to account for boil off and leaving a little room for boil over prevention, while ending up with a 5 gallon boil vol, is going to be very challenging...

I think you might have a hard time doing full boil 5 gallon batches of significant gravity in that kettle. You are also probably going to be remiss if that pot does not have a spigot. Trying to account for boil off and leaving a little room for boil over prevention, while ending up with a 5 gallon boil vol, is going to be very challenging...

In my old system, I used a 8 gallons brew kettle. I made a barleywine in it with a pre-boil volum of 7.5 gallons (90 Min boil). Yes you have to watch it. Get a spray bottle with some distilled water in it and and as the hot break happens, spray the foam on the top to keep it down. Doing that and turning the temp down a little until the hot break is done, you will be fine. You have to watch it though, it can get out of control VERY quickly.

I have done 6+ gallon boils in my 7.5. no problem with fermcap,