Making starter wort

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bschot

Reaction score
So I thought of instead of buying DME to make starters, why not just use 2 row malt to make about 2 gallons of starter wort which makes 8 quarts, which a quart is a little less than a liter. Only issue is storage, my solution was to can the wort with a pressure cooker.

Why this is attractive, according to Beer Smith it takes 3 lbs of 2-row to make a 2 gallon batch of 1.041 wort at a cost of $3.45 for the grain versus 2 lbs of Briess Dried Malt Extract- Golden Light at a cost of $8.80. Prices from midwestsupplies.com. Also I'm new to AG so I think this would be great practice, if I screw up I'm only out $1.15 a pound.

I plan on adding 1 pellet of whatever hops I have to each quart and yeast nutrient according to the directions for the batch.

I know that this has been done, I'm just curious about people's experiences doing this, what are the drawbacks if any. Any and all thoughts/comments would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers :mug:

No need to add hops, you'll just add more trub.

The only drawback to using 2 row instead of dme is time and energy.

I opt for dme and make a 3 gallon batch, I don't have to do it often, so the extra cost isn't as big of a deal

Just filter the trub when you brew and save that in the freezer. You should get about 1.5l per brew.
When you need a starter, thaw that and boild it for 10 minutes and you're good to go.

I read on another how-to to add a little hops for some antiseptic properties. But if one is canning with a pressure cooker than the hops really shouldn't be necessary.