Make your own beer, they said. You'll save money, they said.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
What’s the problem? It’s a hobby with benefits.

SWMBO says...”Rep, I thought this beer hobby would provide cheap beer? The numbers are not showing it.”

Rep responds and gives in...”You are right. I think bass fishing tournaments is a hobby that will bring in great healthy protein for the family. I will go buy a bass boat for $40 K, a truck at $50 K, and never enough lures, poles about $500.00 each.

Every weekend I head to the lake is a $500.00 event. Oh, and add $100.00 worth of beer. Can’t drink garbage beer, right?”

This has been working for 15 years. I started brewing five gallons in my kitchen. Now I have a 20 gallon dedicated SS brewery. Time for another upgrade. Would you folks agree?

BTW SWMBO has been wonderful for me and has not complained.

I like your style! Similar tactics on my end, but it is clear I am outclassed, and in the presence of a Jedi Master. Well played, Sir.

Thank you my friend. But please know and with total respect: It is not about style. My SWMBO is unique. She chose me as a partner, now well, 37 years ago.

Not at all certain about how the universe interacts, myself, I am always curious. I tend to believe both she and I have this level of respect that allows each freedom.

At this point in my life I am wondering which way to move my brewery forward.

30 years into this hobby, and I don't think I have spent $1,000 on equipment. I may be wrong, but I think it is way less than that. Equipment lasts for years; I am still using fermenters I bought 35 years ago when I was wine making.