Krausen not falling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

car421

Reaction score
I brewed an American Hefe last Sunday using sa05 yeast. Hit my target of 1.060 and had active fermentation with the krausen forming 24 hours later - Monday. Here it is Sunday and the Krausen has yet to fall. My blowoff tube in a bucket of starstan is still bubbling away. The only mistake I made was that I started to cool my wort down, got to about 135 and I realized that I forgot to add the last 2.5 lbs of dme at flame out. I put the pot back on the stove and got it to about 150 and added it in, dissolved it while still on the heat and then continued the normal process. I have been brewing for 2 yrs now and have never seen this before.

You mean you're still at high krausen, not just a little foam on top?

I just brewed with sa05 last week. There's still foam up to the airlock after 8 days. Might be a characteristic of that yeast

STOP LOOKING AT YOUR BEER.

Worry over Krausen height???

:smack:

I didn't look at the last 163 batches I made until I syphoned them into the keg.

Guess what? 100% succesful production of beer.

Buckets, no peeking, no hydrometer readings.

World class beer.

Seriously, save yourself the stress. Life is too short.

STOP LOOKING AT YOUR BEER.

Worry over Krausen height???

:smack:

I didn't look at the last 163 batches I made until I syphoned them into the keg.

Guess what? 100% succesful production of beer.

Buckets, no peeking, no hydrometer readings.

World class beer.

Seriously, save yourself the stress. Life is too short.