Just put together MonsterMill MM2 - having some issues. Anyone?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rev2010

Reaction score
I just put the mill together this morning, standard MM2 with 1.5" rollers and 3/8" shaft. Assembly went perfectly fine and I set the gap to the same gap width I've been using for 3 years on my Barley Crusher 0.030". Made sure both rollers turned completely smoothly so that the roller alignment was correct. Connected the Black & Decker drill I've used with my BC for the past 3 years, filled the hopper halfway with some spare grains, pull the trigger and nothing, locked up. The torque had me really holding onto the whole thing too so it didn't flip over. Tried a few things - nothing. Then the drill clutch slipped and span around the axle. Wonderful, now there's some minor stripping on the shaft, though still perfectly usable as I stopped the drill quickly. Emptied out the hopper until there was only about an inch high of grain, spun the roller in reverse fine, then tried again and locked up. Dump all the grain, started the drill and had the wife very slowly pour grain in while the drill was already running. This worked and I crushed all the spare grain. Then I looked into the hopper and see the gap had widened noticeably. Tested with my feeler gauge and sure enough plenty of space around it. So it appears the thumbscrews, which I'd tightened as much as possible by hand, slipped and allowed the roller gap to widen. This common?

So, my questions are as follows:

1. Do I absolutely need a high torque low speed drill for this mill?