Is this efficiency even possible?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chipster27

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I recently started brewing AG again. I built a brew sculpture and have done two batches already, both with VERY high efficiency (or so the calculator tells me).

One recipe included unsweetened cocoa and I suspect that might have thrown the efficiency off so I didn't think much of it. Here's the second efficiency calculator and recipe. The sugar is added at the last 15 minutes of the boil and I'm using a HERMS set up to recirculate the mash/wort while it's resting. In both cases the mash temp is about 150-155.

Here are the SG readings after the 90 minute boil:
5.5 gallons 1.070
6.5 gallons 1.059 (I added water after the boil to give me a total volume of 6.5 G to compensate for the dead space in the conical and purging during fermentation.

Could it really be possible that I'm getting 90-95% efficiency?

recipe.jpg

efficiency.jpg

Looks like you're including the sugar in the calc. So no. Even lab based efficiency tests with a flour type crush don't get that high.

Looks like you're including the sugar in the calc. So no. Even lab based efficiency tests with a flour type crush don't get that high.

I disagree about the sugar causing a bad calculation. It looks to me like the sugar is factored into the efficiency calculator with a 100% extract efficiency.

I thought the extract potential for any particular grain was based on the maximum you could get out of said grain... therefore wouldn't a perfect lab test show 100% extract efficiency for a mash?

On the other hand 90-95% seems out of this realm high... OP are you positive your volume measurements were dead on?