How to customize extract brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kesigage

Reaction score
Can't do any all-grain brewing because of space limitations, so I am sticking to extracts for now. Besides, I am still a noob and want to tinker with my process before I proceed to anything more labor intensive. But, my curiosity has me wondering about the the options I have when working with extract kits...

Are there any resources available that will help me create my own beer using extracts? What's available to help me make decisions on a particular flavor profile? As a loose example, if I wanted to take out a bit of sweetness in a Fat Tire clone, how could I do that?

I love to cook and have had years of experience working with ingredients. Experimenting was easy and cheap. Not so much with brewing beer. I guess I could bug the crap out of y'all all the time, but a reference manual would be ideal.

Taking the sweetness out of an extract brew is fairly simple. Maybe not all of it, but a couple things will take the edge off. First, Get light or extra light extract regardless of what the recipe calls for. This will take the 'molasses' sweetness out of it. If it's still too sweet for your liking try doing a partial mash. Same brew equipment, but less extract and good at getting used to some all grain techniques.

There's no simple answer to your questions without some study, but these references have helped me modify recipes.
http://beersmith.com/grain-list/
http://www.beertools.com/html/ingredients.php?view=grains
http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/calculator

Thanks! Gonna dive into those sites.