How many kegs...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CanadianQuaffer

Reaction score
...should I set up my kegerator for?

I just bought Whirlpool compact fridge which will (barely) fit two 5 gal corny kegs and my 5lb co2 tank. I just don't know whether to go with 1 or 2 kegs. 1 will certainly be easier but 2 is obviously more desirable. Question is, can I drink enough beer to justify 2 kegs? lol. I have, on average, about 1 pint a day. Throw in a few nights when friends/family come over and I can expect two kegs to last 60 days or so.

Is that too long for beer to sit in a keg?

I am new to kegging so I really know very little here.

Thanks!

Nick

Choice is a wonderful thing.

Beer served using CO2 will keep a long time - certainly at least a couple of months. Go with two faucets. You won't regret it...

Cheers!

I built my kegerator set up with 2 kegs over thanksgiving weekend and by March I had gone out and bought a 3rd keg. I still don't have a tap for it but its nice to have that extra keg in there that is full and ready to be tapped when one of the others kick.

Plus having the extra keg helps keep the pipeline flowing... If you've just got 1 keg you have to wait until you finish it all before you can clean it out and keg a new beer which means you're also hogging a carboy to house the beer that's ready to go on tap next which means you can't brew in the meantime!! And that new beer is going to have to sit in the keg for a couple of weeks to condition nicely before you can start drinking it.

My vote is for setting it up for 2 kegs... even if you only put one keg on tap at a time.

IME the beer is best after conditioning for a few weeks in the keezer. With only one keg, you wont have a continuos supply of well conditioned beer.