How long til skunking? (aka OMG I ruined my beer!!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ratnerstar

Reaction score
I've been doing this homebrew thing for several months and I was just starting to feel confident in my mad skills, when I made a stupid mistake last night. Until now, I've been doing standard five gallon brews in an opaque plastic bucket. But I thought I'd switch things up a bit and do three gallons in my Better Bottle carboy. Which was fine until I woke up this morning (it was still technically morning) and realized my beer was sitting stark naked, alone and unprotected in the corner. I totally forgot to put a cover over it.

I pitched around ten pm last night, so the beer had slightly over 13 hours to get skunked. It wasn't in any direct sunlight, but there were some weak CFLs shining on it for a few hours last night and some ambient sunlight this morning. What do you guys give my chances? And what's the best way to tell if it's skunked; when I take a hydrometer reading, will the taste be really off?

Thanks!

It is extremely unlikely that it is skunked. However, if it is, it has happened already. The taste threshold is low. So, if you don't smell or taste anything, it's good.

Hah, well, I guess nothing to be done about it now. If it's bad, I'll just call it my Ol' Skunky brew and tell my friends that it's a little known style they aren't familiar with....

Thanks!

I'm pretty new to Home Brewing myself, but my research so far suggests that you may be fine. You could actually do your whole fermentation without an airlock. They call it Open Fermentation. Its risky, but its possible.