Hops - Lesson needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freezestat

Reaction score
I am fairly new to homebrewing. About 30 gals brewed so far. Can anyone give me a lesson in hops? Acid levels? etc....

The last few batches have had a wicked after bite. Strong hop flavor. I am not a hop head and would like a smoother finish.

I realize this is a very vast question that I am asking, but any help would be appreciated.

Last batch was 5 gal batch
1 lb Briess Murich Grain
2lbs 2 Row - Rahr
5lbs DME - Northwestern
2 oz. Columbus Hop pellets - 1 oz. boil 60 min, 1 oz. boil 15 min.
11.5 Gram Salate Yeast

This brew packed a hell of a punch (alchol) and was to my taste liking, but the bite afterward was a bit to be desired.

HELP!! Suggestions????

This is a really good place to start: BJCP study guide - hops

Columbus is in the family of high AA% hops commonly referred to as "CTZ" (Columbus, Tomahawk, Zeus). These high AA% hops are well liked a lot of professional breweries who are only after the alpha acids. A lot of these breweries are turning them (or buying) hop extracts. A lot of hop growers have taken the high AA% CTZ type hops as a chance to grow alpha acids, since they can get more alpha acids out of an acre of CTZ than Hallertauer.

The CTZ hops are high in another substance called Cohumulone which can lend a harsh bitterness if used in quantity. Most homebrewers will use a very small amount of high AA% hops at the 60 min mark for bittering. I'm guessing you are getting the harsh bittering from the 15 minute Columbus addition. For smoother hop bitterness, only use the extremely high AA% hops for bittering at 60 min.