Quantcast

Homemade wort chiller

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

ErieShores

Reaction score
I've decided to make my own wort chiller based on this fellas instructioins...
http://www.olderascal.com/brewing/wortchiller/index.html
I went to Home Depot, purchased all of the equipment and began assembling the chiller. I noticed that ofter working with the copper, my hands were full of a foul metallic smell. I'm concerned that this with contaminate my wort or give it a metallic smell/taste. Anyone else have any problems with this?

ArcaneXor

Reaction score
I am no metal expert, but it probably needs to be passivated in some boiling water.

bad67z

Reaction score
No I have never noticed a metallic taste, I have used my copper immersion chiller on 15 batches or so and have had no negative results.

There are varying opinions on cleaning your chiller. Once I completed my build I scrubbed with soap and water, then purchased 5 gallons of vinegar from Sam's and soak it for few hours. I keep the vinegar in an old fermenting bucket and use it over and over for cleaning my copper pieces of my rig.

Cheers...

OP
E

ErieShores

Reaction score
Thanks guys, I'll try both techniques. Do either of you notice the metallic smell on your hands though?

Bobby_M

Vendor and Brewer
HBT Sponsor
Reaction score
Initially scrub it down a bit with some dishwashing detergent and the back of a sponge, rinse with hot water. Then you can spray it down with a double strength mix of starsan or equal parts white vinager and water. Let it sit for an hour and rinse it off. IMHO, a full strength vinager soak is not necessary and it's a waste of money. Star san is a great sanitizer anyway and it's great for shining up metal pieces.

bf514921

Reaction score
probly just some kind of manufacturing oils resident on the material, clean then see if it smells.

OP
E

ErieShores

Reaction score
Just a follow up...