Help with designing a dark colored light beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheMadKing

Western Yankee Southerner and Brew Science Nerd
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all!

First off I've been extract brewing for about 6 years, and just switched to all-grain this summer. I'm also new to recipe designing and have only had 1 successful recipe.

My problem is that I have extremely alkaline water in my town with lots of carbonates and getting my mash pH down is a problem for me with lighter beers. RO water is waaay overpriced here ($15 for 6 gallons) and I don't trust that the RO machine is maintained regularly.

My LHBS also doesn't carry saurmalz or lactic acid. I could, of course, just order some acidulated malt online, but that's no fun! So this has begun to hatch a crazy plan.

I'm hankerin' for a pilsner or a cream ale, but to get my mash pH down I was thinking about starting with a good pilsner recipe and throwing in some black patent malt, or roasted barley to help bring my pH down.

Am I crazy? Is there a such thing as a black pilsner? Any advice is appreciated, including "don't be a dumba** go buy some lactic acid.":mug:

You will get significant flavor from whatever blackened malt you throw in......... Those flavors will be very distinct in a light bodied pilsner type beer. You won't get color without flavor.

H.W.

That *will* help you bring down your pH. As stated, you'll be able to taste it in the final product, too. So, that's the trade-off, and you can decide for yourself whether it's what you want or not. I mean, black lagers are a thing.

My next lager is going to be a black lager.

Why not brew with bottled spring water, assuming it would be cheaper than the RO water?