Help with a recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ebr5002

Reaction score
I am relatively new to home brewing. I want to get past the kits and do things my way, with my taste. I have a brewers club meeting in June and the theme is Saisons. I have thought of something that I think will be good. Would you be so kind and to look it over and see what incites you have or if there is any tweaking that needs done. I was going for a pine and grapefruit taste for this.
60 Minute Boil
6 lbs Pilsner LME
2 lbs Wheat DME
1 lb 20L Crystal
Tsp Irish Moss (last 15 minutes of the boil)
1 oz Simcoe Hops (@ 60 minutes)
1 oz Cascade Hops (1/2 @ 20 minutes and 1/2 @ 5 minutes)
1 oz Amarillo Hops (Dry Hopping)
some grapefruit zest at flameout for an extra zing

I think I might need to bump up to 2 oz of Simcoe for a stronger pine taste but not sure how to go about this to get a good Saison with a good mix of pin and grapefruit. Please let me know what you think.

So I just modified it and it will go as follows
6 lbs Pilsner LME
2 lbs Wheat DME
Tsp Irish Moss (Last 15 Minutes of boil)
.5 oz Simcoe Hops and .5 oz Chinook Hops @ 60
.5 oz Simcoe Hops and .5 oz Chinook Hops @ 30
.5 oz Cascade Hops @ 15
.5 oz Cascade Hops @ 5
2 Tsp of Spruce Extract @ 2
1~2 Tsp of Spruce Extract @ Flameout

2~3 Grapefruits (zest the grapefruits with as little pith as possible, put zest into a pan, juice the grapefruits, put juice in pan, then proceed to boil zest and juice down to a syrup) Put the syrup in the secondary, then rack the mix into the secondary after the syrup.
1 oz Amarillo Hops for dry hopping

Let me know how you all think about it.