Hello from New Jersey!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shroomzofdoom

Reaction score
Hello gang, I've been lurking here for a few months now and decided to sign up. I've read quite a bit here and recently inherited my brother's brew setup. I've been bugging him for 15 years to turn over his setup. Ironically, he stopped brewing when his son was born and decided to cling tightly to his gear for all this time.

While he was turning over bottles, buckets etc we came across a full case from 15 years ago!!!! Apparently he bottled it the week his son was born and just...simply...forgot. It was an Oatmeal Chocolate Stout and it went down smooth, very nice beer. We were both pretty surprised that it tasted so good.

He came over a few weeks ago and helped me brew my first beer, a BB kit of Anchor Steam. It's just been bottled and now I am drinking mass market beer and counting off the days. 20 more to go!!!

I am going to be tinkering with some recipes after I have a few brews under my belt, so for the next few I'll be probably be doing some kits.

I was wondering if anyone any leads on quality submersible digital probe thermometers? I saw a DIY, and also managed to kill my remote probe turkey thermos all in time for Thanksgiving!

Anyway, glad to be here...very excited about the prospect of making my own!!!

Welcome to HBT! Finding old beers like that is always fun. Glad they still tasted good!

Congrats and welcome(I'm new myself). Where in NJ are you located?