Hansen valves question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jgcarrick

Reaction score
Pretty new to kegging here, but it's the 3rd best decision I've made since I started brewing 8 months ago. 2nd best was all grain, and 1st was deciding to homebrew!

Anyway an online retailer is selling ball lock kegs with hansen valves. I have a question in to them regarding the nature of these valves, but they're taking their sweet time getting back to me. I figured I'd turn to HBtalk.

What are these valves? Internet research turns up little info. Can I use normal ball lock disconnects? Do I need special connectors etc.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Hansen is a brand of ball-lock connector. That being said, unless specifically stated in the ad, the style/size of connectors on this retailer's kegs may or may or be standard.

I was looking into these "hansen valve" kegs too......I'd be interesting in hearing any feedback on them also. I'm hoping the standard ball lock connector will fit just the same on these.

B3-2530.jpg

Hanson brand ball lock disconnects are All Stainless Steel.
I own a couple of sets. Expensive but a really good product.

DSC00730c.JPG
- -
DSC00731c.JPG

Big difference in the angle of the output fitting.

Are you looking at the ones at beverage factory? I see the Hansen ones are $20 cheaper than their other ones and i'm not certain why I should, or shouldn't order these kegs (it will be my first keg). I'd hate to make the wrong decision!!

So, you'd have to use Hansen SS disconnects or will the standard disconnects work with these kegs?