Grain addition ideas for IPA?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drums09

Reaction score
So I am still pretty new to brewing... Decided to go a lil furthur this time and am trying an IPA (extract kit) this time. The 3 previous brews I've done all had some form of grain addition along with malt extract, but I noticed this kit just has DME and LME. Here is the ingredient list I've got. Any thoughts on grain additions? Qty needed?

2 lbs Briess Golden Light DME
6.6 lbs Briess Pilsen Light LME

1 oz Centennial - 60min
1 oz Zythos - 30min
1 oz Cascade - 1min

Wyeast 1056 American Ale

Thanks for all the great help so far!

I would consider adding up to a lb of Munich, steeped at 150 for 30 minutes. It will add a little color, provide some more fermentables, and give your beer a fuller malt flavor to balance out some of those hops.

Crystal malt is a common grain used in IPAs. Try .75-1.5 lb. of Crystal 60L steeped @ 150-160 for ~30 minutes, for a hint of caramel sweetness and golden color.

I see that you asked about grain - but I had to poke my head and suggest a good dry hopping. perhaps 2oz of cascade

also - if you brew extract, you probably have some extract laying around to make a starter with. very helpful for a good fermentation.

Couldn't agree more on the Crystal malt, either 60 or 120L, around 1lb will add greatly to your brew. Reduce your Pilsen extract by the same amount to retain a similar gravity/abv%.

Editing & adding onto what has been said so far...

*Munich must be mashed, not steeped. FYI - they make Munich extract, as well as wheat, English 2-row, pilsener, etc.

*3-8% Cara- / Crystal malt can be a good addition, but I would do Crystal 10,20,30,40... not 60, definitely not 120. You could also use Honey malt... Or Carafa for a Black IPA.