Got ward test back imbalance? And any good for hoppy beers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marjen

Reaction score
So I am new to trying to deal with water issues. I have typically been using RO water and just adding a little gypsum and calcium chloride. My beers have been a bit flat and as I looked to lower ph I also decided to test my well water. Here is the report

pH 6.6
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 402
Electrical Conductivity, mmho/cm .67
Cations / Anions, me/L 5.9/5.6

Sodium, Na 42 PPM
Potassium, K 7 PPM
Calcium, Ca 56 PPM
Magnesium, Mg 14 PPM
Total Hardness, CaCO3 198 PPM
Nitrate, NO3-N 1.1 (SAFE) PPM
Sulfate, SO4-S 4 PPM
Chloride, Cl 149 PPM
Carbonate, CO3 < 1.0 PPM
Bicarbonate, HCO3 63 PPM
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 52 PPM
Total Phosphorus, P .01 PPM
Total Iron, Fe < .01 PPM

A couple things. I can't get it to work in bro n water as it is not balanced? Not sure what it means other than the cations / anions don't match. Ez water and brewers friend seem to show it fits the style for hoppy beers adding a teaspoon or two of gypsum. To people who know much more about this than me, does this water look good for brewing? I used it in the batch I brewed this weekend but still adding some acid malt and 2 ml of lactic acid to get ph where I wanted 5.25.

What it means is that the lab made measurement errors which may include failing to measure an ion or ions that are in the water. It's not likely that there is anything there to amount to 0.3 mEq/L so the imbalance is more likely simply error in one or more of the listed ions. There really isn't anything you can do about this so just ignore it.