First Try at an Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fells_Pint

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm still fairly new to the home brewing game (did my first extract ingredient kit back in May). After 2 successes with the ingredient kits off of Midwest Supplies, I got cocky and wanted to try my hand at developing my own recipe for a Pumpkin Stout, which didn't turn out as well as I had hoped for - it came out very sweet. (something that I'm cautiously optimistic will settle out with some more bottle conditioning)

I'm ready to try my next attempt at an original recipe for a basic Amber Ale and I was hoping some of you more advanced brewers could give me some insight into how you think the following recipe would come out? I used the Brewersfriend.com recipe calculator to get things right but there are some insights an online calculator can't give you!

I did some research into the different flavors and effects of the hops & yeast to get a good flavor profile, but again - I'm lacking that hands on expertise and just chose things that sounded like they would taste good together.

Amber Ale Extract Recipe
5.0 gallon yield
3.0 gallon boil

6 lbs of Amber LME
1 lb of Light LME

1 lb caramel 60L
8 oz caramel 80L

1 oz Centennial hops at 30 mins
1 oz Citra hops at 10 mins
1 oz Cascade hops at 2 mins

White Labs American Ale Liquid Yeast

OG 1.054
FG 1.013

Brewers Friends calculator says it should give me a 5.64% ABV with an IBU of 31 which is in the range I was hoping to hit.

Slainte,

I'd go with pale LME instead of amber LME. You have 1.5 pound of crystal malt, and that's fine for an amber ale- but combined with the amber LME (which has crystal malt in it as well), you'd be doubling up the crystal malt.