First time attempt at my own AG recipe...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KageBrew

Reaction score
Hello all... I hope this is the right place for this. I would like some criticism on my recipe for a 1 gallon AG batch. This is my first attempt on making my own recipe, and my first AG attempt.
I hope I am not biting off more that I can chew! :confused:

RyPA
This is a 1 gallon brew in the bag recipe.
1. Start win heating 1 gal of water to 155 to 165F, remove from heat, and add all the grains in to the water. Steep for one hour holding a temperature of 155 to 165F.
2. While the grains are steeping heat another ½ gallon of water.
3. Once the steeping is done in the main pot pull out the bag of grain, and rinse it in the smaller pot. Once the drippings from the grain bag run clear proceed to the next step.
4. Add the rinse pot of water to the main boil pot and continue to heat the mash till boiling.
5. Once boiling add .5oz of Fuggle hops and continue to boil for 45 min.
6. With 10 min remaining add .5oz of Centennial hops.
7. Remove from heat and cool the mash until it is 68-72F
8. Pitch yeast
9. Ferment for 2-3 weeks at 64 to 72F
After fermentation cold crash with gelatin for 48 hours.

Grain Bill
• 1.5 lbs. Row-2
• 1 lbs. Flaked Rye
• .25 lbs. Carmel Crystal 40L

Hops
• Fuggle (US) .5 oz.
• Centennial (US) .5 oz.

Yeast
• Wyeast 1968 – London ESB Ale

Expected Analysis
OG: 1.075
FG: 1.023
ABV: 7%
SRM: 6
IBU: 70

1. No- hold the mash at 150-153. You don't want to go anywhere near 160, and going over that can denature the enzymes. Temperature control is important.

2-4. Yes, that's fine