First Batch: How long to leave in the secondary, and other first-time jitters.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UnclePeaches

Reaction score
I am a newbie working on my first brew.
Before and during my first batch I have read Papazian's "Complete Joy of Homebrewing," the HomeBrewTalk forums, and the instructions that came with my extract kit from Austin Homebrew Supply. It seems like every source has a different answer for each question I have. That being said, here is where I am and what I trying to figure out.

I brewed an extract batch of American Pale Ale. I forgot to strain the hops, but reading the forums told me it was okay. I took a hydrometer reading on day 6 & 7. Since they were the same, I followed the instructions from Austin Homebrew Supply and racked the beer to my secondary (sanitized 5 gal carboy.) About 12 hours later I noticed sediment at the bottom of the carboy. The beer has been in the secondary for about 4 days at around 67°- 70°.

I later read that:
A) many people say it is okay to leave hops in the primary.
B) The beer can/should stay in the primary for 2-3 weeks, even after consecutive days of unchanged hydrometer readings.

Since I can't go back in time and leave the primary alone I am trying to decide:
A) How long should I leave beer in the secondary before bottling?
B) Should I wait a few more days, then cold crash for a day, then bring back up to 70°, and then bottle?

Thanks in advance,
PJ

You can leave it as long as you want. I'd say a week or two or three would be good. I like to bottle when the beer is pretty clear, as any more "stuff" that falls out would fall out in the bottle if you bottle too soon.