First AG - Water problem - is my batch recoverable?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PintOfPlain

Reaction score
Hi

I am a newbie AG brewer (only did 2 extracts before also)

I went with Randy Mosher Yellow Diamond Belgian Pale for my first AG.

I live in China, so I went with bottled water. Wasn't a problem with extract, now I am thinking this water is probably distilled. So I used 0 minerals.

The main problem I have is "Watery" flavour.
The beer looks great. Hit my OG.
No bad or off flavours, just no flavour. strange, because I even have orange and coriander in there.

>>> 4 lbs Belgian pale ale malt
>>> 3 lbs Belgian Munich Malt
>>> 1 lb Belgian aromatic malt
>>> 6 oz Belgian medium crystal
>>> 1.5 lb unrefined sugar (e.g., demerara), added to brew kettle
>>> Mash at 152 for 60 min
>>> Hops:
>>> 1 oz Norther Brewer (6.5 AA) at 90 min
>>> 0.67 oz Saaz (3% AA) at 90 min
>>> 1 oz Saaz (3% AA) at 15 min
YEAST: Wyeast 1214 Belgian Abbey
>>> End of boil:
>>> 1 to 2 oranges, zested
>>> 0.5 oz coriander, crushed

My method:
I did a stove top mash. Have a big 8G pot. Mashed that for an hour as directed at 152F
First mistake I did was add all the grains to the strike temp water, rather than add the water to the grains step by step. since I had both my pot and sparge pot full, I forgot that part..

not sure if that upset the grains or not.

then after an hour , I transfered to the lauter tun and lautered out about 6.25G, sparging a couple of times. I measured SG at this stage, was looking good at about 1.040, before adding the sugar into the boil.